September 11, 2006

When I talk about my favorite RPG.

In July I was doing a lot of reading in my favorite diaryland circles. I happened upon summer-gale and began reading her life. Out of respect for her, I will not comment on her life, except to say that my heart goes out to her, and that she has my respect. The reason I mention her here is because, even though I don't know her, she was a major influence on me to do something I had never done before.

See, she plays a game called Asheron's Call. I had never heard of it, but she spoke so highly of it that I wanted to find out what it was about. I did some research (because honestly, I had no idea what a MMORPG was) and found out that it might be something fun to try.

I decided that I didn't want to pay to play, so I began searching for another RPG. Somehow I ended up finding one that I love, and I've been hooked ever since. (I won't put the name here, but if you're interested, note me, and I'll tell you about it.)

Why did I start out this entry by talking about an online game? The answer to that is very simple: He can't stand it. He gets furious with me when I log in. Seriously, this game has tasks that can be accomplished in 10 minutes per day, and that is "too much" according to Him.

The real problem is that I am talking to "other people" online. I never realized how jealous He is of everything I do until I started playing this game. He has threatened to "shut off the damned internet!" and even gave me an ultimatum to choose between Him or the internet.

He just doesn't know what He's asking. Because, frankly, I wouldn't choose Him over much of anything anymore. His days are numbered, and the clock is ticking. Someday soon I'll be packing my things and moving out, and then He will be singing a different song.

The game, and how it affects us, is just one tiny piece of the big, ugly puzzle that is our relationship right now. Our little sandcastle is collapsing, and I don't feel any desire to try and hold things together.


~ ~ ~ ~ ~

My thoughts on 9/11 here. (Note me for the pword, but it's really nothing special.)


|

jktty at 1:45 p.m.

Before | After