October 17, 2007

Don't call me Doherty OR Margie!

So I finally went and got my oil changed today. The overheating thing the other day was my wakeup call. It's times like this that I simultaneously am glad I don't have a man around, and wish that I did. Glad I don't because it means I don't have someone around to shout at me about my stupidity and thoughtlessness, but wish I did so that I didn't have to deal with the grease monkeys at the lube shop where I took my truck.

The guy who checked me into the computer system looked vaguely familiar in that "I hope you weren't my boyfriend in third grade." kind of way. The rest of the greasemonkeys stood around looking at me like they couldn't wait for me to leave them alone with my truck. I answered all the questions I could, replied with "I have no idea." to the ones I couldn't, and left them with instructions that if anyone touched my stereo SOMEBODY was going to get a fat lip.

30 minutes later I listened to the spiel about how great everything looked and that my tire pressure was good and the tread depth was good and yadda yadda yadda, but I really didn't listen. I paid for the service, and got in my truck, was momentarily sidetracked by the fact that they had vacuumed my floorboards...and then remembered why I was in such a rush to get in my truck in the first place. The damn radio was on the same station, and at the same volume. And I was really looking to take some aggression out on one of those dirty oilsuckers.

I was on MySpace this afternoon and suddenly I realized that my brother was online. I quickly typed off a message to him, just a hello and a hug and asked if he wanted to do lunch sometime. I sat there for about 30 minutes, clicking refresh to see if he had read the message. I started losing patience and decided to pass the time by doing my job (me? work? at work?) An hour later when I got back around to the computer, I was disappointed to see that he was not only offline, but that he hadn't read the message I sent.

Patience. I have so much of it for other things (and other people), but so very little when it comes to this. I'll have to distract myself with other things until he decides to write me back.

The guys in my warehouse at work have started calling me by my last name. I can think of only two people who previously were allowed to do this, and it grates on my nerves to hear all these other people doing it. It's not even MY name anyway! It's my lousy ex-husbands.

They justified themselves by saying that if I hated it so much I'd change it. I told them that I only know two ways of changing it and that's by either paying $500 to change it through the courts, or by getting married. (I have deja vu' really bad right now, have I already written about this?) Anyway, I'm not paying $500, and I don't suspect I'll be getting married any time soon. That means I have to listen to those jackasses call me by my ex husbands last name every damn day. I wonder if I threaten them with a fat lip if they'll stop.

Don't you hate it when you get a song stuck in your head and you don't know all the lyrics to it? Yesterday I was stuck singing

Why, do you like playing around with
My narrow scope of reality
I can feel it all start slippin' away

then today it was

Everybody is going to the party
Have a real good time
Dancing in the desert
Blowing up the sunshine

it wouldn't be so bad if I had an mp3 player so I could listen to the song...because once I hear it through, usually it goes away. But that "I can only sing this part of the song because it's the last thing I heard before I got out of my truck." thing...really sucks.

(Kinda like the guy at my office that will come in, start whistling Jingle Bells and then leave. He's not getting a Christmas card from me this year.)

Speaking of...Christmas. It's just over two months away. Not that it's that big of a deal, because really it isn't anymore, but still...Christmas is followed shortly by the new year, and I had things I wanted to do before 2008!

Is it me or does it seem like the older you get, the faster time goes by?

Oh my god, I sound like Margie, the crazy lady my grandmother used to day-sit when I was a teenager. Somebody shut me up!


|

jktty at 8:20 p.m.

Before | After