October 03, 2007

Open house and the bad side of town.

Last night I went to open house for my roommate's 9 year old son. The school is huge, which means two things. We did a lot of walking, and there were a LOT of kids.

A lot of snot-nosed, coughing, hacking, germy kids.

I was in cootie hell. I was secretly walking around wishing for some hand sanitizer and a gas mask. Seriously, do parents not teach their kids to cover their mouths when they start that coughing, sneezing, snotting thing?

The worst part was when we went to the "book fair", which was held in the TINY little library, instead of the HUGE cafeteria. Pammy and I stood there talking about anxiety medicines. I was having visions of myself sitting in a corner, rocking back and forth mumbling about my safe place, safe place, safe place.

One mother was being exceptionally nosy, standing about three feet away from us, pointedly staring. Pammy and I were cracking each other up by talking about the anxiety and antidepressant medicines we would be taking later. I was a little surprised nosymom didn't grab her little blonde-haired Barbiechild and run out of the library.

All in all we were there about an hour, not too bad. I have decided, though, that any fantasies I've ever had about being a teacher are truly just fantasies. Unless maybe I was teaching HazMat classes or something.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I had to go pay my truck payment on my lunch break today. I realize that most people mail theirs in, but I got my truck at a lovely little buy-here pay-here lot on the ritzy side of town. Ritzy as in everyone drives lowriders with 20 inch rims and spinners. Ritzy as in they have "King Kong in the Trunk". Ritzy as in...

I'm driving down the road. I notice the two ghettomobiles in front of me have slowed down to well below the 35 mph speed limit. The driver in one car has rolled down his window, and the passenger in the car adjacent to it has rolled his down as well.

I've got my phone in my hand, ready to dial 911 at the first sight of a gun, and I'm watching for gang signs and bottles to be thrown. I am policing the world ya'll!

Anyway, come to find out they must be old friends that just happened to run into each other. So, instead of pulling over to have a little chit-chat, they decided to do it on a busy four-lane road. I've got patience, honestly, but I only get an hour for lunch and at the rate we were going it was gonna take 20 minutes to get to my oh-so-swanky car dealership.

I changed lanes. I sped up. I tailgated. I flashed my own damn gang sign. Finally, I decided to honk.

Big mistake. They started yelling at me, flipping me off, and just generally being rather unpleasant. There was a red light just up ahead of us, and I didn't think it was a good idea for me to be stopped behind either of them, so I turned off into the ghetto neighborhood. (OMG!)

I started thinking I would have been better off taking my chances behind the mad gangsterboys. I was in unfamiliar territory where half the population (at least) speaks spanish, but after some block-hopping maneuvers I was back on the main road, and on my way.

I ended up 20 minutes late back to work, and decided that maybe next month I'll see if he'll let me mail the payment in. ;)

My cat and my roommates cat are in heat repeat. Instead of going into heat every couple of months or so, they are going into heat about every two weeks. The whining, moaning, and trying to get outside thing is annoying as hell.

It's not that I don't understand and empathize with the girls. I mean, I have thought about sitting at the window crying out for some hot stud to come along and give me some, too...but I have my limits.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

(I keep her for moments like this.) :)


|

jktty at 10:00 p.m.

Before | After