August 29, 2006

When I talk about unmentioned information.

How can one tiny detail of a persons life so change your thoughts about them? A tiny fact, unmentioned, when uncovered can tear away trust, and slice deeply into ones heart.

It's like when the Last Supper was being restored, tiny details in the painting were analyzed, questioned, doubted, and eventually accepted.

When I was in my late teens I learned that my father had been in a relationship with a woman before my mother, and that I possibly have other half-siblings. This little fact has had huge repercussions in my life.

When I found out, after more than a year of friendship, that a good friend was a lesbian, I felt betrayed. It didn't change my opinion of her as a person, but it made me doubt her honesty, and made me wonder why she hadn't trusted me with that fact before.

Most recently...a new friend and an unmentioned relationship. Likely a detail that was unnecessary in the context of our friendship, but a detail that changes things.

Retreat. Rethink. Regroup.


|

jktty at 3:07 p.m.

Before | After