September 25, 2007

Ten on Tuesday Number 1.

I was going to start this new meme last week, but I realized it was Wednesday and it wouldn't be right to start a

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

meme on a Wednesday. So, this weeks 10 on Tuesday asks for 10 things you've been putting off.

1. Replace the broken tag light and wonky left blinker on my truck. (Wonky = it only works when it wants to.)
2. Get caught up with the filing at work. (I'm only two weeks behind!)
3. Write my grandmother back.
4. Clean out/detail/sell my old car.
5. Organize the photos on my computer into some order that makes a bit of sense.
6. Replace the expired registration tag on my truck.
7. Get my hair cut. I'm starting to feel like a shaggy dog.
8. Get the oil changed in my truck.
9. Have the PIN number changed on my ATM/Debit card.
10. Change my kitty's litterbox. (Funny how I put the one that is obviously the most important in the last place.)


I didn't go to work yesterday. I woke up feeling like shit, called my boss to say I wasn't going to be in, and then called and made yet ANOTHER appointment with my doctor. They didn't get me in until 3:15, and I actually didn't even see the doctor until close to 5.

Fortunately it was my regular doctor, and we had a discussion about thrush and how it can be really tricky to get rid of. He gave me a script for NyStatin, with the lighthearted warning that it didn't taste very good.

Listen, if your doctor tells you it doesn't taste very good, that's a secret code for "It's honestly the most DISGUSTING thing you'll ever put in your mouth!" You have to put it in your mouth and swish it around for at least thirty seconds (or until you involuntarily spit it out.) Then, once it's properly 'swished' you have to swallow it.

We didn't discuss whether keeping it down was necessary. We probably should have.

I vaguely recall waking up at 5:00 a.m. this morning with this strong sense that I was falling, followed by extremely loud tinnitis. I did manage to fall back to sleep, and when I woke up at 6:45 I was feeling okay. I decided to try some of my new Bannana Split yogurt for breakfast, and thought it was pretty good.

I got in the shower and immediately wasn't feeling quite right. I started feeling like I was going to faint, so I sat down in the tub. The feeling passed so I got back up. Suddenly I was sure that something was going to happen.

Since I wasn't quite sure which part of my body needed to be aimed over the toilet, I decided my best bet was to stay in the bathtub. The yogurt was definately a reject. I'm not sure if it was because of the NyStatin, or if my body has gone off yogurt, but I'm not sure I've got the courage to try again.

After missing yesterday, I was sure my boss wouldn't buy it if I called in sick twice, so I decided to drag myself in anyway. The first two hours were pretty rough, and I slept through my lunch hour, but now that it's 3:30 I'm pretty sure I'll make it to 5. (Not that I'm getting any work done.)

I can't wait to go home and get into comfy clothes and bury myself under blankets and pillows. I also think I'm going to send my doctor some NyStatin brownies with a note that they might not taste very good. ;)

The man gave me two refills on that medicine. He truly is a sadist, and he deserves the brownies. Maybe even brownies without a note!


|

jktty at 3:20 p.m.

Before | After